The Delightful Necessity of Culinary Indulgence

Our purpose in being here is to work with the music manuscripts of the Greggiati Library.  This work has progressed, however there are a number of other experiences in which to shape our time spent in Italy.  In addition to culture, environment and language comes the delightful necessity of culinary indulgence (which also results in an equal necessity to exercise).  I am sure those who know me will not be particularly surprised by this post.

Image

A love of all varieties of food has been with me prior to my recollection, however there is nothing which could have prepared me for my time spent in Italy in this regard.  I will never think about mozzarella, lasagna or a plethora of other foods the same way again.  Surely they are entirely different food groups from the like versions sampled previously in my life.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Since our arrival here, there have breakfasts of pastries, meat, cheese, yogurt,  nutella and much more as well as appetizers, multi-course meals, birthday lobster, desserts, and of course, gelato.  Much of this is provided by our Neopolitan chef. I could go on and on, however a picture is worth a thousand words (or in this case 13,000), so enjoy your visual tour of the Italian palate!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA                OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

        OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

         OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA                                       OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I hope you’ve enjoyed our adventure as much as we have (even as we spend our free time swimming, running and going to the gym).  Edible delicacies are an excellent way to familiarize oneself with a culture and if we’re not careful, a wider waistband.

ERW

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA                                                               OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One thought on “The Delightful Necessity of Culinary Indulgence

  1. Thanks, Elin – now I’m hungry! I’ll have to settle for eating some Piccoli Dolci treats. Yum! I hope everything is going well with this year’s archive work and traveling. I have enjoyed seeing familiar places and faces as well as receiving updates on the blog! Keep up the great work Elin, Ryan, Devon, Daniel, Katie … and of course Giovanni!

Leave a Reply

